Susieboldt's Blog

Random Comments from a Dreamer

A Horrible Way to Start off your Morning

There’s something highly unnerving about waking up to a stressful song in the morning. You know what I’m talking about; when that awful alarm clock turns on and the radio blares loudly with whatever song the radio has decided to play at the moment. Sometimes, and these mornings are always very relaxing, I awake to a beautiful and soothing song. And then there are other times when I awake to a horrible and stressful song. I attribute stressful songs in the morning as anything that doesn’t sound soothing; you be the judge. Now normally, in the day or evening, I don’t mind stressful songs, because as long as it’s not the morning, I don’t find songs stressful. I listen to rock, punk, and hip-hop, everything that I would define as stressful in the morning. But there’s just something different about rock/hip-hop songs in the morning. The blared electric and bass guitars, rough edged rocker voices, and possible autotune don’t do me well first thing in the morning.

One time, I awoke, not to find Sarah MacLauchlan’s beautiful and soothing voice singing, but exactly the opposite, the Beastie Boys. Yeah that’s right…the Beastie Boys. Now before I can go on and finish this blog, I need every person reading to hear the song that I awoke to on this particular morning. You don’t have to listen to the whole thing. In fact, I urge you not to listen to the whole thing, but I awoke to somewhere in the middle. So just click your mouse to the middle of the song, and at least listen to five seconds worth. And not the fast five seconds, but the long ones, one…Mississippi, two Mississippi, three…you get the point. I want you to endure the same torture I endured.

Now put yourself in my shoes, or lack thereof, (because I was in bed), but think about how my morning must have went. Yes, first thing in the morning I get awoken by my alarm clock and low and behold- the Beastie Boys. I don’t think I’ve ever moved so fast in the morning. I dove across the bed, slammed my hand on the off button and felt a quick sense of relief flooding through my head. Only, that split second of relief turned into horror not long after. I realized that the song was still playing! I must have missed the off button. Now I must search for the snooze button (which is a button I never press, and so it’s location is foreign to me). Ah! I finally find it and silence fills the air once again. Yet, even though I now had my precious silence, I also had a very bad start to my morning. I was cranky and moody the rest of the day, just because the Beastie Boys decided to bestow upon me their crap music. Thanks Beastie Boys, thank you very much.

Note to self: change radio station.

December 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Ugh. That song is horrible. What a nightmare to wake up to! I agree with you wholeheartedly, though — many songs that are tolerable in the afternoon or evening are unendurable first thing in the morning. Waking up to them is indeed stressful and can totally ruin your morning. That’s why Ben and I got a CD player alarm — we can choose the songs we wake up to. Life has improved considerably since buying it.

    Comment by kathleenquiring | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. You can CHOOSE the song you wake up to? Why haven’t I heard of this technology? I’m stuck with my phone alarm. I suppose I get to choose what I wake up to as well, but my choices are limited to approximately 8 ring tones, the crappiness of which I can not fully describe.

    Comment by Willy | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. I just set my alarm clock to radio, and then I choose which station I want to wake up to. I don’t use my phone as an alarm, it’s not reliable enough with its horrible battery life!

    Comment by susieboldt | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. Willy: that CD player alarm clock was expensive, like $50, so that may be why you haven’t come across them. We had to use Canadian Tire money to purchase it. And “the crappiness of which I cannot fully describe” made me laugh. No need to describe. I understand.

    Comment by Kathleen Quiring | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. My alarm clock is an ipod docker, so i can set it to whatever song i want on my ipod to wake me up.
    every morning, i wake up to a different christmas song. it’s wonderful. best way to start my day. i’m not a morning person (in fact, quite the opposite.. the term “bear” is a good way to explain me in the morning), but there’s something about waking up to Celine Dion singing “O Holy Night”, or Boney M singing “Mary’s Boy Child” that can not only put me in a great mood to start off the morning, but it also puts me in the Christmas mood.
    i agree with you about the type of music that is acceptable to wake up to. i need something gentle to nudge me out of my sleep before i’m ready to bop around to some lively tunes. that’s why i usually start with something soft and soothing to ease me into the waking up process, and by the time i’m ready to get out of bed, i’m dancing around to Brenda Lee’s “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree”.
    in my opinion, your morning can never be horrible when it’s started off with a good Christmas song!

    Comment by Karen Schroeder | December 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment