Susieboldt's Blog

Random Comments from a Dreamer

Ladybug Infestation

Ladybugs- ladybugs- everywhere.

I’m not exaggerating when I say that currently I have thirteen ladybugs lounging in my bedroom, and three trying to find escape in the bathroom. A few others have ventured out from the bedroom and bathroom, and have made their way into the kitchen. They’re the smart ones, you see, these few ladybugs know that they won’t last on water alone, they need food, I think. And so they’ve found the source of all food: the kitchen.

You can imagine my frustration, considering that I cannot kill bugs, not even spiders! So naturally, I watch my step when I enter the bathroom, making sure I don’t step on them, and basically just work around them. I listen to the loud noise of ladybug bodies hitting light fixtures and windows all night long. I do this because I’d rather work around these stupid insects than kill them. I did however flush a couple of them down the toilet the other day, thinking that they were dead. Turns out, they were just sleeping. Now I don’t even clean up the dead ones, because there really isn’t any sure way of telling if they’re dead or just sleeping.

My husband is usually the one who vacuums the house, and so I’ve decided to wait for him to take initiative on this huge undertaking of getting rid of the ladybugs. I won’t do it, I refuse to do it, get rid of the ladybugs I mean, not vacuum.  

My question is: how do they keep getting in? I would guess my bedroom window, since that’s where most of them stay, but how!? I’ve searched for openings, cracks, and holes…and every time I’m left bewildered at their presence. They’re little Houdini’s, every one of them.

They smell too, I bet you didn’t know that. When they feel threatened they emit this gas (only certain kinds of ladybugs do this), and stink up the room. Naturally, they do this for the better part of their days considering our cat just has a field day over their company.

I’ve thought about creating a contraption that catches ladybugs and gives them a nice home, with grass to eat and everything (assuming they eat grass of course), but that idea fell through fast, considering I’m lazy.

I used to like ladybugs, thinking that they were cute. Now, I can’t stand them…worrying constantly about stepping on one, or accidentally killing one when I thought it was dead! They’ve become my enemies, every one of them.

What kinds of insect infestations do you deal with?

March 7, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | 6 Comments