Susieboldt's Blog

Random Comments from a Dreamer

I Hate Flip Flops

Flip flops are useless; let me explain why…

  • Flip flops are horrible for your feet. They have no arch support whatsoever. Why would you want to subject yourself to wearing shoes that are obviously bad for your feet, posture, and joints? It just doesn’t add up.
  • Flip flops are dangerous. Imagine for a moment that you are being chased by a mugger. He wants your purse and he’ll stop at nothing to get it. Clearly, you have no chance at out-running this mugger. He’s wearing running shoes and you…well, you’re wearing flip flops. He catches up to you easily, grabs your purse and then hits you over the head with your own bag. You then slump to the ground, hit your head, and start bleeding. All this because you were wearing flip flops.
  • Not only are flip flops dangerous because of muggers; they are also dangerous when it comes to driving. I heard that it was illegal to drive while wearing flip flops, probably because they can get stuck on the gas or brake pedals. It’s just a bad combination – flip flops and brake pedals….a combination that should not be messed with.
  • Flip flops are bad for camping. You are more subject to getting sun burns and mosquito bites on your feet. You are also subjecting yourself to getting campfire burns. Those campfires can be dangerous things. Depending on the type of wood that is chosen to burn, the campfire could produce burning ash and debris. This is more common than you think.
  • Flip flops do not make you look cool. What makes you look cool is wearing something other than the norm. Flip flops are a dime a dozen, and in turn, they take away your uniqueness as a woman. I get the impression that when people are wearing flip flops, they think they’re cooler than everyone else who isn’t wearing them. Well let me tell you something, when I’m the only one in a group of girlfriends who is not wearing flip flops, I’m the one who feels cool.
  • Flip flops are noisy, and occasionally make farting sounds. It’s embarrassing, not only for the wearer, but also for the unfortunate people around them.
  • Flip flips are inconvenient. Don’t ask me to feel sorry for you when you get a rock imbedded in your heal. I’ll be wearing my runners and walking over that rock that just made you cry.
  • Flip flops force you to colour your toe nails. Before you leave the house you need to check your toenails and make sure they’re painted; if not you’ll have to postpone your plans and dig out the nail polish. Tsk tsk. Let’s say you’re going to a birthday party and you’re just about to head out the door when you notice your toenails are un-painted! You run back inside and quickly cover them with colour. Well, the running shoe people will arrive first at that party and eat all the cake, so by the time you arrive with your brightly coloured toenails, all the cake will have been eaten.

These are my arguments against flip flops. I challenge anyone to out-argue me.

Image from: http://blogs.jobdig.com/wwds/files/2007/07/flipflops.jpg

September 7, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

28 Comments »

  1. I agree that flip-flops are pretty useless and not very safe. But I don’t think all your claims are true.

    1. There’s no proof that our feet need arch support. Why would God give us feet that required the aid of expensive athletic shoes that were only invented in the last century? More likely, our feet are best off unshod.

    2. I’m quite sure I’ve never come across a woman who thought she was particularly cool for wearing flip flops. We all know that they’re a cheap, dime-a-dozen kind of footwear. I think most women wear them for their convenience. No laces, straps, buckles or Velcro. Just slip ’em on.

    3. They certainly don’t force anyone to paint their toenails. I’ve gone without nail polish all summer and my flip flops haven’t so much as complained.

    Personally, I think the best kind of footwear is none at all. Healthy, safe, hassle-free, cost-free, and much more unconventional (and you seem to suggest that unconventional=cool) than running shoes. But I don’t hate any kind of footwear. That’s just my preference.

    Does that count as an out-argument?

    Comment by Kathleen Quiring | Project M | September 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Haha! Great arguments, Kathleen! I’ll support your argument about toe nail polish, girls have gone without it and lived.

      But I will not agree with your other two arguments. My feet need arch support. I cannot wear any footwear that’s flat or my entire posture and spinal cord suffer (I’ve had this proven by Chiropractors). I need to buy expensive footwear to ensure that my feet do not hurt after walking. Maybe it’s my heavier body-type that forces me to wear this kind of footwear, but I know that either barefooted or anything flat gives me multiple body problems.

      As for some girls thinking they’re cool for wearing flip flops, it’s completely true. Walk into any high school and count how many girls are wearing flip flops, now count how many of these girls are beautiful, skinny, have blonde hair, blue eyes, and attractive boyfriends. I guarentee you that these more attractive teenagers will be the ones wearing flip flops. And the only reason that anyone else would be wearing flip flops is because they think that if they do, they can become like the popular girls. It’s a fad, not for everyone, but for a lot of people, and fads suggest coolness. (I do realize most of this is my opinion and not proven whatsoever, but I’m really good at pointing out cool, and non-cool).

      Comment by susieboldt | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  2. Was this supposed to be a serious post? A lot of your facts (mostly all of them) have no proof behind them.

    I agree with Kathy about the arch support. You read everywhere that babies are best off going bare foot and not wearing shoes. Why? Because all of the stuff you hear about arch support and needing $100 shoes is bogus. Who is telling you this stuff? Chiropractors and shoe companies.

    People (even beautiful, skinny girls with blonde hair, blue eyes and attractive boyfriends)don’t wear flip-flops to be cool. They wear them because Old Navy has them on sale for $1 a pair so you can buy a different pair for every outfit and they are so easy to put on. Nobody has to wait for you to tie up your laces.

    Comment by christina | September 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Are any of my posts serious? None of this stuff has facts behind it, jeesh. Calm down. 🙂

      And I need arch support. The pain I feel when I’m wearing Wal-Mart or Payless Shoes is no joke. It’s real pain, and I need arch support to help my feet and legs not to feel that pain.

      Comment by susieboldt | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  3. actually it is proven that flip flops are bad for your back so take to the bank christina. there are countless studies to prove that. your arguement is based on pure emotion. so calm down and just buy shoes.

    Comment by Aaron | September 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for commenting and having my back, Aaron!

      Comment by susieboldt | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. I wear flip flops not to be cool but for comfort. Any day my feet don’t have to be bundled in socks and shoes is a great day!

    Comment by Ellie | September 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for commenting, Ellie! I love bundling my feet up, even in the house! Yes, I’m weird…

      Comment by susieboldt | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  5. well seeing as this is a blog and not a scientific theory, there’s no need to throw temper’s. i think at the end of the day, we can all agree that if you step back and take a good hard look at a flip flop they really serve no purpose.

    Comment by Aaron | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  6. okay that’s it. Nobody says you have to like flippy floppys, nobody is saying you have to wear them. I’m not sure why you try so hard to get people to argue with you. It’s only because everyone loves flip flops that you decide to hate them. If everyone said that flip flops were uncool, Susie would like them. Its just your nature.

    I heard that flip flops are actually good for your posture because when you’re walking, they force you to point your toes, cuz you gotta keep em on, which actually makes you walk better. I’m not gonna entertain by trying to argue with you, but I agree with the arguments against this post.
    Here’s kinda why. Not once have I ever put on my flip flops longing to be a part of the cool group. I wear flip flops all the time because they are convenient, cheap and easy to slip on. Not to mention the ones I am still wearing I purchased three years ago. Most of the time I wear them, I feel extremely dressed down which is not the way of the cool group.
    A couple of reasons I don’t wear shoes all the time are
    1. Very expensive (for the ones you speak of anyways)
    2. Pain in butt to put on. ( you either have to untie them or just shove your foot in them causing the back to break down very quickly,causing the need for replacement. MORE $$$)
    3. shoe wearers feet are white and pasty lookin.
    I kinda like how this person explains it.
    “The human foot works pretty well on its own, Sternbergh says, and it doesn’t need a lifetime of help from shoes. He explains the basic illogic of footwear by comparing the concept to a perpetual cast. “Imagine if someone put a cast on your arm when you were 3 years old and you never took it off,” he says. “Your arm would stop working. That’s kind of what’s happened with our feet.”
    And just one more thing. Step in a puddle? You’re soaked for hours. Flip flops wearers, jump in it again and again, and they’re dry in a few minutes. Flip flops are more fun than shoes ever will be.
    This comment was not based on emotion, but on pure opinion. Which I’m sure is the case for the rest of these comment as well.

    Comment by sue | September 8, 2010 | Reply

    • I will always hate flip flops. I can’t wear something that rubs between my toes and subjects me to evil mosquito bites, so don’t assume that if people hated them, I would love them! 🙂 Yes I go against the grain, but not always, so let’s not go over generalizing! I always appreciate your comments, and love the quote you added. I definitely think my feet have gotten lazy through evolution.

      Comment by susieboldt | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. Whoa whoa whoa. Too much tension in here. Just because Susie put a smiley face on her comment and I didn’t, doesn’t make my post comletely based on emotion.

    I will say this, if you’re going to write a blog about something you know almost everyone disagrees with, you have to expect comments disagreeing with you. Just sayin’.

    Comment by christina | September 8, 2010 | Reply

    • I agree, you can probably read these comments like we’re yelling, but thats really not the case. Just stating opinions. =-)

      Comment by sue | September 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Maybe you should add more smiley faces. 🙂 I’m fine with people disagreeing with me, although I’ve never based my blog on fact, not ever, so don’t ever expect it. Also, this post was clearly not serious, considering I was talking about muggers and cake in relation to flip flops. And the reason I spark argument is to get people reading, I’d say I did a job well done, wouldn’t you?

      Comment by susieboldt | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  8. i think billy graham said it best when he said “The Root of all barbaric indecency is the creation of the flip flop”

    Comment by Aaron | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  9. I love flip flops!

    Susie, usually you do go against the grain.
    Although, nobody said wearing shoes in the summer was a crime, it’s just a bit “unheard of”.

    Comment by Anonymous | September 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you for commenting! And yes I’m a leader, not a follower. There’s no crime in being either. 🙂

      Comment by susieboldt | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  10. I think we have more things to worry about than flip flops. I don’t know how something so minor could become such a big arguement.

    Comment by david | September 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Whoa, Dave! This is the first time you’ve commented! Thanks a lot! Flip flops are minor, I agree!

      Comment by susieboldt | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  11. Wow.. I can’t believe how much negative response this thread is getting.. It seems like everyone is so defensive and for low reasons.. People bitching about facts-vs-opinion, and $$$.. Whoever thinks God made us perfect, and hence don’t need footwear, I suggest you never use the aid of an Advil again, and perhaps no medical treatment when poppin out a kid.. Since this is how God made us ‘anyway’.. For people who are too cheap to take care of themselves, $160 really isn’t too much to put aside for your own health now is it?.. Why is it so imperative to pinch every penny in life?.. I say you start droppin every loonie INTO life.. Milk these days on Earth for what theyre worth! What, you think Gods just waiting at the end at a poker table to see how much money you can add to the pot??… Lastly, it’s a blog.. “a type of online diary that someone makes available to other people on the internet”… You know what that means?. Opinion. You did a great job on voicing your opinion Mrs Susie.. To anyone else immature enough to read open-mindedly, grow up..

    Comment by JimBean | September 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Wow! There’s a lot of stuff in that comment!

      I most definitely agree that a blog is on online diary filled with opinion. Of course, there are those blogs which are focused and then become less about opinion and more about facts. Mine has never been focused, so it relies solely on opinion. I also agree that we should LIVE; we only have one life here, why waste it being cheap? But I also firmly believe that we need to be smart with our money. If someone needs a one hundred dollar pair of Dr. Scholls, they should get them. If someone does not need it, then they should not spend the money. Money needs to be spent responsibly. Some people can wear flip flops and have no back trouble whatsoever, and if that’s the case, then stick with the flip flops.

      Thanks for the comment though! I really appreciate it!! But I did post the blog knowing what kind of feedback I’d get, so it’s tecnically my fault. I got a whole ton of views though, which is exactly what I was going for! I’m sneaky like that. 🙂

      Comment by susieboldt | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  12. I don’t know why people have to argue about all this. Susie, you can think and feel whatever you want. (I like flip-flops and you know it, who cares) Why do people read a blog just to argue what the writer writes?

    Comment by Lena | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  13. I think it’s a bit odd that the writer can state her full opinion but anyone else who would also like to state their opinion is “bitching.”
    As far as I’m concerned, blog readers don’t just have to read and accept the statements. After all, the writer herself said she knew what she was getting into.
    Maybe try a less sensitive subject next time.
    =~/

    Comment by anonymous | September 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Why would I try less sensitive subjects? That doesn’t make any sense in my mind. My post on flip flops generated a ton of comments and attention; isn’t that exactly what every blogger tries to do in one way or another? I was talking about flip flops for goodness sake, not something serious or important in any way. And I did not say that people’s comments were “bitching”; so why am I being targeted in this comment? I’m perfectly okay with people stating their opinions, just as I stated mine. The only thing I ask is that people state them in respectful and polite ways. If someone says, “I didn’t agree with your arguments and here’s why:” I’d be completely fine with it! I agree that if I can state my opnion, so can everyone else.

      Perhaps everyone should re-read the comments and pay special attention to how I replied to each one. I allowed them their opinions and counter-argued where I felt necessary. I was poilte and resfectful with each comment. I appreciate your comment, truly I do, but I do feel targeted, and I don’t think that I deserve it.

      Comment by susieboldt | September 13, 2010 | Reply

  14. This comment wasnt to target you at all. You didnt say it was bitching, “jimbean” said it. I wasnt sure why he felt the need to attack everyone’s opinions. This wasn’t personal.

    Comment by anonymous | September 13, 2010 | Reply

    • Alright, thanks for clearing that up!

      Comment by susieboldt | September 13, 2010 | Reply

  15. Yeah, that anonymous commenter definitely wasn’t targeting you.

    Comment by Kathleen Quiring | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  16. i just wanna say that i think its super rude for random people to comment on other peoples comments and bash them. if the writer can have an opinion so can the reader. you dont need to tell someone to “take it to the bank” or “calm down”. how immature.
    afterall, at the end of her post, the writer challenged everyone to out-argue her.

    Comment by anonymous | September 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

